Key takeaways

  • As of November 4, 2026, Copilot costs $0 (Free), $10 (Pro), $39 (Pro+) and $100 (Max) a month for individuals.
  • Business is $19 and Enterprise is $39 per seat per month, with 1,900 and 3,900 AI credits per user.
  • Plans include AI credits worth $0.01 each, replacing premium requests except for some legacy annual plans.

GitHub Copilot pricing starts at $0 for the Free plan and goes up to $100 a month for Max, according to GitHub's Copilot plans page. Business is $19 and Enterprise is $39 per seat per month, per GitHub's plans documentation. All prices below are as of November 4, 2026, the date we read both pages.

The part that changed is how usage is measured. Plans now come with a monthly allowance of GitHub AI credits, and the plans page says one credit equals $0.01. A $10 Pro plan includes $15 of credits, for example. If you read older guides that talk about premium requests, see the last section.

Copilot plans and prices for individuals

Prices are per month, as of November 4, 2026. Credit amounts are from the docs, which list them as credits rather than dollars.

Plan Price Included AI credits Who it is for
Free $0 An allowance, amount not stated Individuals without Copilot through an organization
Student $0 An allowance, amount not stated Verified students
Pro $10 1,500 (1,000 base + 500 flex) Individuals who want more flexibility
Pro+ $39 7,000 (3,900 base + 3,100 flex) Power users who want the most advanced models
Max $100 20,000 (10,000 base + 10,000 flex) Sustained, high-volume use

The docs do not define "flex" credits. They only show that flex is added to base credits to make the total. Pro is free for some users, such as verified teachers and maintainers of popular open source projects, according to the docs.

What the Free plan includes

Free is limited. The docs give it up to 2,000 inline completions a month, automatic model selection only, and, for code review, only "Review selection" in VS Code. Third-party agents and Copilot in the cloud are not included. The plans page does list Copilot CLI, agent mode, MCP servers and custom instructions as part of Free.

The plans page says Free gets "entry level models" in its FAQ, yet its model list for Free matches the paid plans. The docs are the clearer source: auto model selection only.

What each paid plan adds

  • Pro adds code review, Copilot in the cloud, cloud agent assignment and third-party agents, which the page names as Claude Code and Codex. Completions and next edit suggestions are unlimited.
  • Pro+ adds premium models including Opus, audit logs and delegation to third-party agents (Preview). GitHub says it has 4x or more included usage than Pro.
  • Max adds priority access to new models and features. GitHub says it has 2.9x or more included usage than Pro+.

Pooled usage, where credits are shared across a team, is not part of any individual plan.

Copilot Business and Enterprise pricing

These are priced per granted seat, per month, as of November 4, 2026. The plans page itself does not list them and sends buyers to sales, but the docs do.

Plan Price per seat Included AI credits per user
Business $19 1,900
Enterprise $39 3,900
Copilot access $0 with a GitHub Enterprise Cloud license, $10 for standalone None, metered usage billed separately

Enterprise requires GitHub Enterprise Cloud. Copilot is not available for GitHub Enterprise Server. On Business and Enterprise, the plans page says admins set usage limits and decide whether extra paid usage is allowed. The docs do not say what happens to an individual when credits run out, and we could not confirm it. Our article on how to check your Copilot usage covers where to see your own balance. For the competition, see Cursor vs GitHub Copilot.

What happened to premium requests

Before credits, plans were measured in premium requests. GitHub's billing docs say that model still applies to Pro and Pro+ subscribers on an existing annual plan who stayed on legacy billing after June 1, 2026. For them, Pro includes 300 premium requests a month and Pro+ includes 1,500. Extra requests cost $0.04 each, and counters reset on the 1st of each month at 00:00 UTC. Each Copilot code review uses 13 premium requests since June 1, 2026.

Prices and allowances change often. Check the plans page before you buy.

Frequently asked questions

Is GitHub Copilot free?

There is a Copilot Free plan at $0 with limited features, including up to 2,000 inline completions a month. Verified students get Copilot Student at no cost, and Pro is free for some users such as verified teachers. Prices are as of November 4, 2026.

How much is GitHub Copilot Pro?

Copilot Pro costs $10 a month as of November 4, 2026. It includes 1,500 AI credits, which is $15 at $0.01 per credit.

How much is GitHub Copilot Business?

Copilot Business costs $19 per granted seat per month as of November 4, 2026, with 1,900 AI credits per user.

What is the difference between Copilot Pro and Pro+?

Pro+ costs $39 a month against $10 for Pro, and includes 7,000 AI credits against 1,500. It also adds premium models including Opus and audit logs.

Sources

  1. GitHub Copilot plansGitHub
  2. Plans for GitHub CopilotGitHub Docs
  3. Requests in GitHub Copilot (legacy premium request billing)GitHub Docs